Western Music Club


Founded on June 21, 2012, on the occasion of the World Music Day. Although this club or this genre of music had its presence in the music milieu of AMU since the early seventies, Dr. Parvaiz Imam gave the first public performance in 1987 with hawain guitar. The music culture was much promoted by African and Middle Eastern students residing in Aligarh under various educational exchange programs.

1991 saw the advent of ‘Spooky Charms’ by Ritwik Ghosh and some Commerce and Engineering College students.

1994 – the first rock show was promoted by (late) Iqbal Ghani Khan (Department of History) with his friend Billy Stevens performing a Beatles number, “When my guitar gently weeps.” Then comes the first formal band of AMU known as Jinx. With Asif Fauzi, Ritwik Ghosh, Asad Javed, Faraz Izhaar and Saad Ahmad Khan. They won prizes at North Zone Youth Festival and also at National Youth Festival.

1999 – the second band came up the horizon was ‘Red Dawn’ with Khaliq Qureshi, Khalid Siddiqui, Talib Hussain Bilgrami, Taj War Ahmad Khan, Amber Jail Khani, and Rushdie. Later Dr. Ravi Farhan Khan also joined the band. Red Dawn won many prizes at zonal and national level. ‘Pink Blues’ started by Ashraf Shehzad included first female vocalists; Saba Siddiqui and Aashi.

2004- ‘Irtiyash’ was formed by Khurram Nisar, Nabeel Firoz, Irfan Ali Khan, Rohan Kumar and Umair Khan.

2006 – ‘Sloth’ entertained the campus under Ali Syed Taqvi, Atif Nafees, Umair Khan, Rohan Kumar, Nabeel Firoz. Later Faraz Farooq, Hamza Abid, and Shabbar Imam joined the group.

2012 – ‘Mash –treaty’ by Mehul Kumar, Atif Nafees, Umair Khan, Abhishek Noel and Atif Admi. The band Mash-Treaty was adjudged as MTV band of the year award in 2014 in the competition of 100 bands held at Kingdom of Dreams, Gurgaon.


On 7th July 2020, Ar. Faraz Farooq was appointed as President of University Western Music Club. The way you bring together melodies, harmonies, and rhythms is truly awe-inspiring. Ar. Faraz Farooq is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Architecture, AMU. Faraz Farooq is an advocate of new urbanism, modern architecture, and equitable city planning. Having practiced architecture and urban design in India as well as abroad has been formative in research and publications. Other interests include music, art, and performing arts.

Secretary (2022-2023)

Mr. Ayan Ahmad


Key Achievements

Past Secretaries

  1. Mr. Atif Nafis: 2012-2013
  2. Mr. Mehul Kumar: 2013-2014
  3. Mr. Syed Ali Mubasir: 2015-2016
  4. Mr. Mir Akhtar Hussain: 2016-2017
  5. Mr. Aman Ali Shah: 2017-2018
  6. Mr. Danish Saeed: 2018-2019
  7. Mr. Vasu Tomar: 2019-2020
  8. Mr. Anas Khan (Student Convener): 2021-2022

Picture Gallery